Implementation of Rule 14-1b

Rule 14-1b, which prohibits anchoring a club when making a stroke, takes effect on 1 January 2016, as part of the 2016 edition of the Rules of Golf.

This document explains how the Rule applies to various methods of stroke (Part I below), and also addresses
more general questions received by the The R&A and the USGA about whether it would be permissible under the Rules for players or competition committees to elect to waive the Rule (Part II below).

Additional resources, such as an infographic and an explanatory video, are available at Questions about Rule 14-1b can be forwarded to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or your national golf association. Players with questions on how best to adopt a method of stroke that complies with the Rule are also encouraged to consult their local committee.

Playing in Conformance with Rule 14-1b

1. Guidance on playing in conformance with Rule 14-1b

A. Text of Rule 14-1b

Rule 14-1b focuses only on the method of stroke; it does not limit the conforming equipment that may be used. While making a stroke, a player may not anchor the club (i) “directly” or (ii) indirectly through use of an “anchor point”. These concepts are explained in the Rule:

14-1b Anchoring the Club

In making a stroke, the player must not anchor the club, either “directly” or by use of an “anchor point”.

Note 1: The club is anchored “directly” when the player intentionally holds the club or a gripping hand in contact with any part of his body, except that the player may hold the club or a gripping hand against a hand or forearm.

Note 2: An “anchor point” exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact The following images show players using belly and long putters in a permissible manner under Rule 14-1b.with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club.

Penalty: Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes

B. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

The following FAQs respond to various questions received by The R&A and the USGA about the application of Rule 14-1b:

Does this Rule apply only to strokes made from the putting green?

No. Rule 14-1b applies to all types of stroke (i.e. putts, chip shots, pitch shots,

The following images show players using belly and long putters in a permissible manner under Rule 14-1b.

full-length shots, etc.), regardless of where those strokes are made (i.e. putting green, fringe, fairway, rough, tee, and everywhere else on the course).

Is this a ban on belly putters and long putters?

No. A player may still use any conforming belly mid-length) or long putter. Rule 14-1b addresses only the method of stroke, prohibiting a player from anchoring the club directly or by use of an anchor point while making a stroke.



""In 1967 a committee was formed and a memorandum proposed which was later approved by the minister of defence and in 1969 Services Country Club came into existence."

Services GC